Sunshine Village Ski Patrol MD Medical Bag

I have been an active ski patroller at Sunshine Village ski resort in Banff Alberta for the past three years. As such, I have found myself in a few interesting medical scenarios which have led me to continue to think about exactly what equipment I want in my MD bag. I think of this bag as the kit that I would want with me on the ski hill and also in my car if I was to ever come upon a medical emergency on one of my adventures.  I think of this pack as a “MD First Responder” pack have intentionally not included and IV meds or IV access supplies as I feel these can be obtained by the real first responders (Fire/EMS).  Did I miss something?

DL SUNSHINE MED KIT 

Airway:

– Adult face-mask

– Pocket BVM

– King tube sz. 4 and 2 with gel and syringe

– Pocket Bougie

– # 4 ETT for surgical airway

– Scalpel 15 blade

– OPA x 2 sizes

 

Trauma:

– Trauma shears

– Angiocath 14g x 3-1/4 x 2

– Kling roll x 2

– Triangular bandage x 2

– Roll white tape x 1

– Sam splint x 1

– 4x4s x 8

 

Meds:

– Fentanyl 400ug lollipop x 4

– Ondansetron 4 mg SL tab X 4

– Lorazepam 1 mg SL tab x 4

– Epinephrine 1:1000 vial x 2

– Benadryl 25 mg x 4

– Dexamethasone 10 mg vial x 2

– Tylenol 500 mg x 4

– Ibuprofen 400 mg x 4

– ASA 81 mg x 4

– Ventolin 1 inhailer

– NTG 1 bottle

 

Lacerations:

– Dermabond x 2

– Needle 18g x 2

– Needle 25g x 2

– Lidocaine 2% x 2 vials

– Band-aids x 10

– Syringe 10cc x 2, 3cc x 2

– Prolene 4.0 x 2

 

General:

– Gloves L x 2 pairs

– Finger Oxygen Sat monitor

Leave a Reply

